1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

the weekend was a mixed bag and I am still sick
Sunday, Apr. 19, 2009 - 21:30

I'm really a sorry excuse for a human this weekend, quite pathetic. I'd be embarrassed if I didn't feel so shitty.

The snot in my head, all ten gallons of it, has congealed into a thick, frothy goo, plugging alternately one ear and then the other, one nasal passage and then the other, and often both of each, everything at the same time. My lungs are full of the stuff too and my coughs are increasingly meaty. For days I have been unable to breathe or hear, coughing the cough of the very unwell nonstop.

You probably aren't reading anymore so you'll miss out on the best part: my race yesterday - as if I weren't pathetic enough, being unable to breathe, coughing all the time, 4.5 miles in I fell and now have stigmata markings on both palms, as well as scrapes on my elbows and one knee. And my ankle hurts, and maybe that's the culprit - maybe I twisted my ankle and fell because of that. Or maybe it's a result. It's hard to tell. I am bruised and sore in various places. A nice lady behind me stopped and asked if I was okay, and I said I was, and I got up and brushed the dirt off my hands and ran the remaining mile and a half. And my time was not bad at all - was much better than I was expecting. So it's all good. Also, I received medical attention from some firefighters, and a good time was had by all. I did not win a door prize.

Then I walked today's race with my mom. It was a tiny race - if I'd run and done well I would have placed. I did not win a door prize again but my mom won socks, which she gave to me. My parents came to town last night and were probably horrified - I never get sick but here I am coughing all the time, my voice is all weak and sickly, and I'm all scraped up because I fell like a fourth grader. Sad.

I bought them two kayaks and took a nap this afternoon. I feel better, I swear, even if I don't sound like it.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019