1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2009 - 18:26

So sure am I of things I cannot be sure of, I am afraid I'm going to get my poor little heart broken again.

Let's say there's some kind of bigger perspective to all of this. Let's say it's a game, or dance, or intricately subplotted novella, with each tiny detail combining forces with all other tiny details to turn into one very large scenario. It's like Voltron.

Let's say I can't find my keys and I leave my house two minutes late. I can't find the hoodie I want, or I decide to look at my face one last time, or I put the pizza in the oven five minutes later than I meant to. The shoes I want to wear are at the back door rather than the front door. Or let's say I can find my keys and everything else I need and my new oven cooks quickly and I cut the pizza into small pieces that cool off quickly. I leave my house when I leave my house, two minutes late, two minutes early, exactly on time.

I walk down the sidewalk at a certain pace, exactly that pace, no faster or slower. I arrive at a corner at the exact same time you come walking around the building. I am there and you are there. Whatever you'd done, whether you could or couldn't find your shoes, whether you got stuck in traffic or didn't, it all sent you to the same place at the same time as me. If I'd walked a little slower or faster you wouldn't have been there.

Expounding upon this, everything I've ever done in my life has brought me right here right now. But let's not stop there. Expanding it to the grandiosest proportions, everything that's ever happened in the world, all through time, every rock that fell off a cliff, every dinosaur that stopped to take a crap, every mosquito slapped and killed mid-bite, every train wreck and thunderstorm and inconsequential nosepick, every discarded yogurt container, every blooming tulip has brought us to this.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019