1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

food &c.
Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2008 - 11:53

I am embarking upon a new thing - recording everything I eat. I've done it before, once, but then forgot about it a week later. While I was doing it, it was illuminating. However, I learned nothing from the experience, unfortunately - that is because I am dense. This time will be different, though, because I will be working with a "health coach". For free!

As of 11:53 today I've ingested:

English muffin with butter
1/2 cup coffee
12 oz. caramel latte (although I can't taste much caramel), 2% milk

Because I profess to be an "athlete" (a pretension everyone no doubt can see through), nutrition is something I should be super smart about (or at least pretend to be super smart about, which is all that matters). I hope someone buys me a cook for Christmas.

Once upon a time I was running and I ran very far, fast and effortlessly. But then, the next week, I ran for only a very short distance before puttering out in disgrace. "omg!" I exclaimed, "wtf?" "What did you eat for breakfast?" someone in my running group asked me. I'd had Grape Nuts. They shook their heads and tsked at me. "We had toast and eggs," they said. "I had a banana and half a bagel with peanut butter," someone else said. "Huh," I said. I went home and thought about it. Then I called someone and was all, "Hey! What should I eat?" and they were all, "You should eat better," and I was all, "Thanks!" And that was the end of my nutritional education. Or so I thought.

Godspeed, you food, into my stomach, and thence to my bloodstream.

Etc.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019