1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Jun. 17, 2008 - 18:24

I'm wearing a skirt today, little designer shoes, lip gloss. If you saw me you'd know what I'm scheming. I was woken up early by the goddamn magpies again today, and then my alarm went off at 6:31. Even though I had a lot to do before I had to leave for work I didn't get out of bed until 6:51. Yes, I'm up to something.

But in other news my neighbors moved away yesterday morning and when I got home from work and saw their empty house I nearly started crying. They, like me, have masters degrees but had trouble finding decent work here - they, like me, were just barely making it here. So they moved back home, half a country away. They gave me their grill and left me their dustbuster.

Yeah, I got home yesterday and saw that they were gone and spent the evening being sad. What is this, some failed experiment? We all give it our best shot but end up losing and have to go home? Someone said "life is not a dress rehearsal" but they apparently don't prescribe to my 12 lives theory. Life is 11 dress rehearsals. Unfortunately for me I'm on my last life - the big show - and so this time around I should be doing it better. Or maybe it's just that I've learned so much and now know that there really isn't anything to know. All this information, all these experiences - none of it leads anywhere in particular, just to more meandering.

Anyway, it's pretty much the best time of year right now, even if it's still light when I have to go to bed, even if the goddamn magpies wake me up at 5:30, even if I know that in less than a week the days will start getting shorter. Yeah - I've got something up my sleeve, obviously.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019