1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

080423-080424

2008-04-24 - 18:10

I have made a major life decision - (no I haven't) - I have given up on my job. Not that I had ever invested anything in it, no, but now I'm pretty sure I won't be hanging around very long. Perhaps I am jumping the gun - in my calendar for September 1 I have written: "Assess life". I was going to wait until then to decide what to do but I'm starting to decide right now. Right now I'm thinking that in September I will be quitting. Until then, I will take advantage of my benefits, go to the eye doctor and dentist and physical therapy, things like that. Call in sick every once in a while (I know I won't do that, actually, but I should - I have days and days of sick time accrued). Use my vacation time.

I'm liking this town and I'm liking my life here a lot - more and more. I love the radio station, I love where I live sort of, I love the running club and my running group. I love that I walk over the river every day, I love that black bears and deer are a problem in my neighborhood. I love that every weekend there are races that I can run in - trail races or road races, 5Ks or 10Ks or half marathons.

I love that I lived in Seattle and I love that I loved it there. I love and miss my friends there and I love Ballard. I love that I worked downtown in a skyscraper and got my heart broken by a beautiful asshole.

I love that I run in races now - am I being magnanimous with all of this? Nevertheless. I love that despite my unlimited supply of laziness I have been able to drag myself out of bed every goddamn weekend morning for the past four and a half months to go run around outside in the cold morning air. All I'm doing is proving to myself that I can do it - and I can. My favorite yoga poses are warrior poses.

I heard Sinead O'Connor's "The Last Day of our Acquaintance" just now on KEXP. Yeah, I'm pretty sure everything's about to change. I hope I'm not jinxing it all by saying that, but seriously, Fates, you've left me alone long enough.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019