1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Notes from the field
Sunday, Apr. 13, 2008 - 16:17

It's hotter than a mother, it's 78 degrees, it's sweltering, inconceivably unbearable. My hands are sweating. My arms hadn't seen the light of day since the first week of November so imagine the shock they received this weekend at seeing not just the light of day but the jolly bright sun. My arms are red, even my earlobe is sunburned.

This morning before my race I tried to sit down and write in my journal - I have nothing to say these days, I write in it every two weeks only to keep track of what I've been doing so my biographer will have an easier time of it. I will have to leave my dayplanner for him too.

I am busy, very very busy, and I am unfeeling. I don't really care, and I don't really care that I don't care. Sometimes, momentarily, I will realize that I don't care, and I will become mildly alarmed: I am shutting down oh my god, I might as well get myself an overweight cat and start wearing mauve sweaters. It's the same general freakout I've had since I moved to Ballard THREE YEARS AGO and my roommate was the embodiment of what I feared growing into. She was a lovely lady, though, and there's nothing wrong with overweight cats and mauve sweaters. But whatever. I don't even care enough to really freak out about that these days. I am too busy doing what I'm doing, and if what I'm doing is avoidance, fucking oh well.

1. Music: I am listening to amazing kickass music these days, Caribou and Animal Collective, Fuck Buttons and Dodos and Thee Oh Sees and Collections of Colonies of Bees, Cigarbox Planetarium. My last couple radio shows have gone well and I'm excited about it again.

2. Running: FUCK YES. Today I ran another 5K PR, 25:06. I was happy with 27 minutes, I was impressed with myself for 26 minutes, but 25:06 today, fuck yeah. I was the fourth female finisher. It's fucking awesome, having run since January - this was my sixth race of the year, I'm in good shape, I know my pace, and I pass people who start out too fast and then fade away. Today I started out right behind the lead pack (who started out way too fast) and then one by one started passing them - not the real leaders, of course, I'm still nowhere near winning, but no one passed me after the first quarter mile. It was awesome.

3. Garden: My crocuses are beautiful (albeit on their last legs) and my daffodils and tulips are coming up and there are lilies and all these other things starting. It's exciting.

4. Plans for the future: I'm going home for the weekend in a few weeks. I miss my home. Unfortunately I think I'm starting to love it here.

My neighbors' internets aren't working for me at home and haven't for a week. I'm too busy at work to waste time. I'm too busy when I'm not at work to come to the coffee shop (where I am now). So I might be neglecting my internet haunts (whatever) but it's not intentional. I still think, pretty much all the time.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019