1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

etc.
Sunday, Mar. 16, 2008 - 16:48

Random man encounter #1: I'm hurrying down the street last night on my way to meet people, nearly late. A man on a bike at a cross street stops and asks me if I want to hang out and watch a movie. Sorry, I'm late, I say. "Oh no, don't apologize," he says, "no need to do that." I run away.

Random man encounter #2: Three hours later I'm leaving the basketball game, walking across the river. Some guy starts reciting to me all the team stats from the last 20 years. We get to the street he turns at. I'm going straight. He assumes I'm going to the bar on the corner. No, I'm going straight, I say. "Oh," he says, and walks away.

Random man encounter #3: Fifteen hours after that, I'm at the laundromat. I keep having to walk past a guy who's folding his clothes, making him get out of the way for me. On his way out, he looks at me, stops, turns around, comes up to me, gives me his laundromat card that you use to pay for the machines. "There's a dollar left on that card," he says. Oh, okay, thanks, I say.

In other news: Who ran a personal best in the 5K yesterday? That would be me. Who was passing people at the end? Me again. Totally rad. Then I had pancakes. That was also rad.

In other news: I might kind of have some kind of asthmatic something-or-other. I'm willing to ignore it, except it's gotten more noticeable over the last few months, and toward the end of the race Saturday the air going into my lungs was whistling. Also the hard-to-breathe part of it, that wasn't good.

A night owl's worst nightmare: My alarm during the weekdays is set for 6:44. On the weekends, it's set for 6:45.

Running group update: This morning I could have gone 6 miles with the full marathoners, but I was able to stop myself and only go the 4 miles that the half marathoners were supposed to do. I'm not doing the full marathon, ffs, and won't do the full marathon training, even if all my friends are.

Tulip update: Leaves are coming up!

Hops update: The tops of the shoots are coming up!

Crocus update: My crocuses are retarded. They are not up, their leaves are just starting to come up.

Primrose update: Flowers! How?

Fisher MC-4040 update: Set up with medium-sized speakers, courtesy of my dad. Totally rad. Very beautiful.

Sony stereo system update: All components except the DVD/CD player are in boxes in my basement, including all my huge speakers. Still can't exactly afford to get my receiver repaired. Sad. Totally not rad.

p.s. I hope you bewore the Ides of March, even though I didn't warn you about it. You okay?

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019