1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Friday, Feb. 15, 2008 - 19:46

Most everyone who calls during my radio show is nice. It's nice to get requests, because then you know someone's actually listening. It's nice when someone calls and says they're enjoying your show. And the best calls are when someone asks you who you just played - "Who WAS that?" - because you know they've just heard something new and they're freaking out about it enough to actually call a radio station to find out who it was.

This week I played a song by Antony and the Johnsons, "Fistful of Love". Antony has the most beautiful voice - Pitchfork calls it "painfully lovely". Really - his voice is absolutely beautiful, capable of evincing absolute joy and absolute sorrow at the same time. Or something like that.

After the song ended some woman called and said "Who WAS that? The song that was playing right before this one, who WAS that?" and I told her, Antony and the Johnsons - "Antony? AnTONy? A N T O N Y?" Yes. "And the Johnsons? The JOHNsons?" Yes. I told her the song was from the album "I Am A Bird Now". She was quiet, she said, "My dad just died, and you said 'I Am A Bird Now' and it just blew me away."

She should go out and buy the album - maybe she will - she doesn't even know the half of it. The album is all about death. I mean it's all about life, life and death - that's what life's about. You're born, you grow up, you die. Family, love, happiness, loneliness, it's all there in that album and in his voice.

I mumbled something like "Sorry about your dad" - I mean what can you say? and anyway I didn't want to hear it. I can't stand around and talk to people on the phone - if there's a minute left in the song that's playing, I have to figure out what to do next, otherwise nothing will happen. - and managed to get her off the phone without her oversharing any more than she already had.

Anyway, best call I ever got.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019