1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

it's cold outside
Monday, Jan. 21, 2008 - 09:39

Excellent news! It was 7 below when I woke up this morning. In other towns it was 25 below. Windchills are considerably lower, of course. Does the windchill help kill bad things? How cold does it have to get to kill ticks?

We have a severe weather alert! Blinking! It's -8 right now! It's gotten colder!

In my little alley room right now it's 8 degrees. Last night I went out into it and it smelled like winter. I was compelled to go outside and it was lovely - it was clear and the moon was nearly full and I saw Mars. Cold weather is one thing, but really cold weather is another thing entirely.

I can't really explain why I'm so happy about cold weather. My toes don't appreciate it and it's hard to get out of bed in the morning, but - I hope it sticks around a couple more days.

I'm glad I didn't have to leave my house today at frickin 7 a.m. to go to work - paid holiday! Paid cold holiday! Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. I wish they'd broadcast a speech or two of his on NPR today, but it doesn't look like they're going to.

It's sunny! I'm going down to the river to see how it's frozen over.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019