1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Jan. 20, 2008 - 16:00

A doozy of a winter storm blew in last night, a doozy yessireebob. The wind was blowing so hard it was threatening to rip the siding off my house. I slept with my coat, snowpants, boots, and headlamp next to me in case I had to evacuate, in case a tree fell on my house. Today there are snowdrifts and broken branches everywhere you look. They are advising a windchill of 10 to 20 below - I am slightly disappointed, because they were forecasting actual low temperatures in the range of -5, but now they're saying 2. I want super cold weather for a day or two - well below zero - to kill off the bad things. 2 degrees? That doesn't do anyone any good. What a waste.

I walked downtown to see a movie - Atonement, quite good despite Keira Knightley - and I just got back. Half of my face is red, my thighs are frozen, blood hasn't circulated through my feet for hours. I've started a new book - I'm going to get under a blanket and read for the rest of the afternoon, listening to old records.

Also, go Hillary!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019