1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

time to ... um, well, I uh, I don't know
2007-11-15 - 13:46

Again with the emailed-from-work entry. I've finished editing two documents and don't have anything to do now. Will I have to kill time until 5? I could do that.

I lost a $5 bill on the way to work this morning. I've been thinking lately about how I sometimes find money but have never lost money, and here I go losing money. I hope the person who found it needed it, I hope it made their day. Thinking about that makes it okay that I lost it.

My radio show this week nearly didn't happen. I was up for jury duty - I was very interested in serving on a jury. I went in, walked to town through the brilliant frosty morning, got to the courthouse totally on time. We filed into the courtroom, sat at our assigned seats, they asked us questions. I answered my questions very well, I thought. They rejected me. I was rejected. Why? Why? What did I say wrong? Do they know my sister's a cop? - That's what I'm pretending the reason was. Why else would they reject me? My unbiasedness radiated through my cheeks, as usual. But no. Rejected.

So, the rest of the day free, thought about hanging out at the coffee shop with my laptop trying to catch up on my nanovel (I'm using that like totally ironically or whatever). Nanovel schnanovel. I called the program director at the station to see if he'd found anyone to do my show. He hadn't - my procrastination in posting the shift availability paid off! - so I was able to do it. And a good thing, too, because it was a brilliant show. I listened to it last night and was impressed by my song selection. (I, of course, remain a helpless baby frog on the mic.) But that's not why I do it, as you well know, probably. I am a charlatan, a harlequin - neither of these means what I mean, please try to infer what I'm saying. I devised an excuse for staying afterwards (which I always do, but this week I stayed even longer) to prolong awkward interaction with the person I enjoy having awkward interactions with. It was enjoyable. He enjoys the awkward interactions too.

I just deleted a paragraph of intense overanalysis. Never mind! Fine!

Someone called in and called me 'baby'. Um. I uh, well anyway.

Well anyway. Much of the dialogue in my nanovel is uninspired and forced because I don't give a crap about any of it. Most of my characters talk like this: "Um. I uh, well anyway."

News: My neighbor is out of town, gone for days and maybe weeks or months! This means days and maybe weeks or months of peace!

Favorite things about Thanksgiving: 1. pigging out, 2. leftovers. (These could be conflated but I'm not going to do it.) Next Thursday is highly anticipated. Stuffing! Potatoes! Gravy! Stuffing!

Time I got into bed last night: 10:00! 22:00! I know! And then I didn't get out of bed until 7:50 this morning. I was supposed to be leaving for work at 8:10, which I didn't do. I was late but no one else was here so no one knows. And I lost that . Now I've wasted 45 minutes. I wonder if Meredith is here today, I have some pictures to give her.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019