1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

prose: can't write anymore
Monday, Oct. 22, 2007 - 17:27

Ongoing #1: the nonprofit. Met this morning with special guest Friend 1, Ms. Organization herself. Perhaps our nonacademic nonprofit should instead be an institute affiliated with the university. Downside to that: affiliation with the university (because, frankly, the university can fuck off). But it's an idea, and, in the interest of perpetuity, and with the knowledge that there will eventually be administrative turnover, it is a good idea. Also, a potential name was bandied about, honoring my thesis adviser, the guy I came back to study with, who has just retired. That would be nice. Nicer than I can say.

Ongoing #2: the online class. Due tomorrow: a combined mission/vision/values statement. But with all the different potential directions that were discussed at our meeting this morning, I don't know what to write. It's only an 8 paragraph thing, and I HAVE started typing something, and anyway it's a 1 credit online course that I'm not taking for credit, so who cares. No one.

Ongoing #3: the article for the running club newsletter. Many weeks ago I told the editor he had to give me a deadline or else I'd never do it. Okay, he said, October 26. Fine, I said, that's miles away. Now it's this Friday. I've started but it's not as easy as the unstructured stream-of-consciousness shit I'm used to writing. It's terrible, writing schmiting.

Ongoing #4: music. I'm still planning to put together an upbeat playlist for my radio show this week, but, like everything, haven't done it yet. Still kind of sick of everything I listen to.

Ongoing #5: the written word. Still a fan, still from a distance. I finally finished Wuthering Heights, I will start something else shortly.

Ongoing #6: my job. All our reports (annual, quarterly, and monthly, for two different grants) are due next week, my last week. I will edit them when rough drafts are ready, but they are such a mess that I'm having to help put them together and I hate that. Have not found a new job because everything available is still blehhh.

New #1: starting a consulting firm with Friend 1. Here we are, many of us, who have advanced degrees in this field, and we've all quit, and we all have excellent research and analytical skills, we are smart and overeducated and should all be charging organizations $70 an hour to figure things out for them. Shouldn't we? (This idea was inspired by a couple things, one of which was seeing an invoice submitted by one of our contractors - $70 an hour and I can't really see what she's doing that I couldn't do. Really.)

New #2: god, never mind. I don't even want to write about this yet, it gives me a headache.

Desire #1: new pants.

Desire #2: brown shoes.

Desires #3-6: ice cream, chocolate, water, bedtime.

Movie seen: Into the Wild. Everyone goes on a journey like that, although not necessarily so geographically. But we reject everything, leave everything we know behind, go places and meet incredible people, and then finally get to the realization that what is important is our people. Not all of us starve to death, though, luckily.

Dinner: god, please no more leftover chili.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019