1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2007 - 12:19

The dogs next door died in July, within two weeks of each other - it was very sad. Another dog at the end of the alley died earlier this year. Suddenly the cats are taking over the neighborhood. They come through my yard and catch grasshoppers. I am delighted and amused.

This morning for me meant coffee, eggs (over hard), and an English muffin - a weekend breakfast, and I'm on an endless weekend. My last hand of cards from last night is still out on my desk. I was up late watching Pride and Prejudice - I read the book over the weekend - I could have stayed up all night watching the whole thing but went to bed at 1 instead. I have the last half to watch tonight. Which I am looking forward to. Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy is heaven.

I'd rather sit and read than do anything. Funny, because, although I am always reading a book, am always in the middle of a book (or two or three), I am not a reader - meaning, I don't consume books like some people do, I don't consume books like I do music. Yes I'll sit for two days straight to read a book, if I find one good enough - but that only happens like every three years.

But since July I've read or reread three Harry Potter books and Pride and Prejudice and - okay, not very impressive, but I have two bookshelves sitting here looking at me and I'm going to pick out another book.

It's escapism, of course, but I'm also very far behind - I used to like to read, I remember, in high school. Then college came and knocked it out of me, and then grad school came and knocked me out of me, and then I quit and said to hell with everything learned, and then grad school part two came - but now it's all over. I am done with academia forevermore.

The guy I went to the terrible lunch with a few weeks ago told me about someone he knew who decided after he finished school (I think it was grad school) that he just wanted to read for five years. So he somehow arranged to live for five years and just read - I think he was caretaking someone's house or something.

I would like to do the same, except not really because I don't have five years. (I do, but am impatient.) I would like to sit around for a year, though, sit around and read books all weekend and write, too. Except of course I wouldn't get anything written. And I probably wouldn't read, either. Instead, I would get more read and written if I got a job and had to read and write on the side. So okay, it would behoove me to get a job.

I always think I'm going to actually read all the books I was supposed to have read for all the classes I took and somehow got As in (I was a terrible student) but who am I kidding. They'll all just sit there for decades getting dusty and outdated. I should totally read that Introduction to Logic book though. Should, but won't.

I never heard what happened to the guy who read for five years. He's probably homeless and insane.

But the cats are nice. The days are nice, too. So is my resume, but I'm too afraid of success to do anything with it. Whatever. I'm going to read Wuthering Heights next.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019