1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Easter: all the luck for you in this world
Sunday, Apr. 08, 2007 - 10:02

One year, I was in Rome for Easter. St. Peters, there were thousands upon thousands of people there. Hundreds of thousands, maybe. We went there, the pope was a tiny blob of red.

This year, I didn't even remember Easter was this weekend until Friday, when another TA told me she was bringing Easter candy for her class.

Last year, my mom sent a card (as she does every year) and it made me cry. I can't quite remember what about it made me cry, but it did. I believe I got it on a Friday after the weirdest week ever. This was when I was deep in the increasingly uncomfortable quagmire of realizing I was in love with an asshole.

This year I was invited to a barbecue with some friends. I begged off, reasons being that I have to do my taxes and I had to change a flat. This barbecue, incidentally, is being put on by a guy my age, only a month younger than me, celebrating his birthday around this time. I met him on a night out at a bar a couple months ago. He does not look as old as he is, and neither do I. He owns a house. Etc., etc., etc. The implications are there.

I got a flat. I ran over a phillips screw. I just changed it. It took a while to get the lugnuts out, the tight bastards. I had to jump on the lugnut thingy (whatever it's called) to loosen them -- I know you're not supposed to do that but there was no other way I with my sad lack of muscles could have made it happen. Even with all my weight bouncing on them it took a while. I was gentle, knowing I was doing something bad, knowing the terrible calamities that could happen if I bounced too fervently. It all went well, though, and now my car has a stupid little temporary tire on it. Tomorrow we go to Big O. Free flat repair, please.

I bought a book about housekeeping by Martha Stewart on Friday and maybe this is embarrassing to admit but nevertheless I am excited about it and am admitting it. Already my kitchen and bathroom are ten times more pleasant to be in, and very very shortly my living room and bedroom will follow suit.

And I don't know, microwaving a cold cup of coffee just makes it taste so much homier, doesn't it?

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019