1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

God forbid I ever see Poison in concert. Who knows what that would pull up.
Sunday, Mar. 18, 2007 - 23:48

Triggers of memory || smells, music. The music I listen to obsessively changes week to week, month to month. Some albums get a year of active adoration. And what happens when your life is categorized by music? Funny when you see a band you used to listen to all the time - that one summer when they killed you every day - funny when you see them and you are reminded :: Remember when we used to be creative. Remember when everything was possible for us.

Funny how it's only been a year and a half since you've seen them. Funny how last time you saw them with someone who turned into a whole nother episode in your life. Funny, in fact, how you can't shake that thing. What should you call it? A mongoose? A monkey? Funny how, somehow, all music relates to that episode, whether directly or not. And funny how it wasn't an episode and you're calling it that.

(Tin can, sweaty smoke, remember when we used to be creative.) (You, not you, I had a dream about you. Why you?)

(Daytime daydreams have me telling him I'm going to punch him in his [[beautiful] hypocrite] face. Nostalgia waves roll in and now all I want is to ask him about the keyboardist in Wilco.)

(Or:

Dear person,

One day we were sitting there, wasting time, turned away from our computers, toward each other. "What languages do you speak?" one of us asked the other. Later, one night, we were sitting in the Croc. "What instruments do you play?" one of us asked the other. Remember that? Days of getting to know each other, every answer and bit of information full of possibilities. "Where have you been?" The stories we could tell each other. "Have you heard of this band?" Even later, at our lowest points, we always had music.

Person: who are you now? Are you going anywhere? And are you happy.

Person.

Sometimes I'm surprised because sometimes I remember. And oh how different things are today. And mostly, oh how different I am today. That is why I address myself in posts and pretend I'm addressing you.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019