1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Sunday night, postponed.
Sunday, Jan. 28, 2007 - 19:33

Maybe peace is boring, sure, but this was a peaceful weekend and it was lovely. Tonight I even ate dinner at my table (as opposed to at my computer), two courses, salad and lasagna, with wine. It might even turn into a three-course meal because I have ice cream. I have an apple pie that I could bake too. Oh wow I could have apple pie a la mode.

Speaking of my weight, I weighed myself the other day and I am now weighing what I should weigh, rather than two or three pounds below that. This would bode well for the new year except for the fact that I know these two or three pounds are pounds of blub accrued from imbibing in foodness rather than muscles accumulated from exercise. Last night I even had a dream about my overly-blubby stomach.

Speaking of my lack of exercise, I went running today and I went Friday. Friday sucked ass, good god, my legs weighed a hundred pounds each and my lungs were on fire. Today sucked too, except it was better than Friday and I found a new place to run to near my house. Funny, mentally I could run for miles, but physically I can't anymore. That's what you get for not working out for three months. My body is amazing, she can stay in shape for like a month of non-exercise, but three months I suppose is too much to ask of her.

Speaking of the marathon, it's coming up, it is, and I'm starting from scratch with my training.

Speaking of this weekend - I already mentioned that it was lovely - ..... I don't have anything more to say about that.

I went to the coffee shop today and yesterday and today it was really busy and obviously I'm going to have to get my butt there before 2:30 on Sundays. Why were all those stupid people there? It was a beautiful day, it was the afternoon, they should have gotten their morning coffees and been outside hiking or playing ultimate frisbee or whatever the fuck it is other people do on Sundays.

Speaking of Seattle, yes I do miss it and pretending that the coffee you get here is adequate is such a sad charade.

At the coffee shop, which has a good atmosphere despite the craptacular coffee and millions of people, I read for school, and I read and wrote a little of the story I'm working on and I'm getting kind of enamored with it. And there's research I have to do for it. Research! Like a real live author! I have to go back to Seattle to do this research too!

Then I spent much of today pretending I would be moving to South Carolina, where I will be offered a fabulous job as assistant editor of some magazine, and I get a cute perfect apartment somewhere downtown, and then later we buy a house with old appliances, a red refrigerator, a cat and a dog and I named them too. Also, I buy a sundress. My dad would come visit for two weeks. Our neighbors would be nice, an old lady with whom (barfing noise) I would have tea, and her husband is a retired appliance salesman and he sold our red refrigerator to the people who lived in our house fifty years ago. Or forty. Fifty. I would have to sell my car, though, wouldn't I, because are Subarus really necessary in South Carolina? :(

I'm going to put that pie in the oven because I'm planning to get more wine and obviously I need something more in my stomach because I also have more reading to do. I mean, I'm drinking wine. And I'm going to eat more lasagna.

Misery begets art, luckily. And so say you are the unfortunate owner of a broken heart. There are thousands or millions of songs to represent every facet of every stage you can go through. Anger? Fuck yeah, fuck you. Sadness? Oh yes. Sarcasm? Nostalgia? Bewilderment? Resentment? Jealousy? Yes yes yes yes yes. Pleading, detachment, sour grapes, revenge, bitterness. And then there are other songs too, that have nothing to do with a broken heart, and eventually you move on to them.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019