1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Nov. 16, 2006 - 20:07

I imagine you - who knows if this is true or not - evenings at home with some music playing, Miles Davis, a candle, you're cooking. I imagine you reading a book, a magazine. I imagine you - and this can't be right because you aren't online much at night anymore - on the internet researching your next plan of action, schools, jobs, programs. Being the old man that you can be.

Or I imagine you in your toxic lifestyle, sitting at a bar, bullshitting, every night, 5 6 o'clock until the wee early hours, smoking, talking up your latest girl, telling her you'll crack her shell. Smiling, laughing, she makes you laugh.

Whatever you might imagine me doing - if you ever do - is probably wrong. I put on a good show for you, didn't I? Always busy, always with something to do, people to meet for dinner and lunch and coffee and drinks, shows to go to. I did that for months, months straight that was me. For months that was me sitting at the bar. Tonight I'm here with some hot chocolate, I ate my two dinners (because otherwise I'd be too hungry), now some free-form cowboy jazz is on the radio. I'm looking up printers on the internet. And the thing I look forward to every day is going to bed.

I reinvent the wheel every day. Like it's Groundhogs Day over and over with me, over and over, again and again. Every day I get sick of myself, every day I decide that's it no more, every day I write the end the final chapter. Every day I log off for good.

My youngest sister bought me groceries, that's how pathetic I am.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019