1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Food, cold. Food.
Friday, Sept. 15, 2006 - 23:17

Yesterday morning brought with it a sudden drop in temperature of oh let's say 30 degrees. Imagine me, if you will, living in a small four-room house in an alley, old casement windows, wobbly doors, yeah way cute but also way (it would appear) airleaky. Now continue to imagine me, paying the same rent I was paying in Seattle (except here at least I don't have any annoying roommates) and making less than half of what I was making there. Also, I haven't talked about my fatness lately because I hadn't been feeling fat but now I'm feeling again like if I don't start moving around a little more I'm going to start pudging on the pounds. But hey, winter is coming, a larger layer of fat might be nice.

All of this adds up to the prediction that I'm going to be baking a lot this winter. My kitchen is tiny, it gets hot. Hot in August is icky, hot in January is hot. (Hot in a cold cold September is nice too. Oh I want to bake some bread right now, bread or cinnamon rolls or. Man there are so many great things to bake. Biscuits. Quiche! Pie! Cake! Cupcakes! Bread! I already said that but fresh-baked bread is good. What else do you bake. Besides desserts. Casseroles! Yum I'm going to eat so much this winter! Toaster Strudels! Did I tell you about my toaster? It's red. Yeah, I know. What else, what else. Oven. I have a crockpot too. Chili. Split pea soup! I love split pea soup! Except that recipes always call for a ham bone and I always skip that part because it scares me.)

(I will eat like a queen. A very warm queen. Now I will go put more blankets on my bed. One storm window was not enough to fend off the chill.)

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019