1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Sept. 09, 2006 - 11:35

Oh about ten years ago I found out about online journaling. After a while I started doing it myself. HTML by hand, all that.

I haven't had a legitimate website since, like, when I dropped out of my first try at grad school. Before that I'd always had one and it's always seemed stifling to not have one.

Sure I have this diary, and another totally secret diary here, and some blogger pages, but nothing that's unanonymous or intended for people who actually know me.

I decided to get a myspace page last December because I wanted to be friends with bands, and then I got found out by some high school friends, and then some Seattle friends found me, etc. And I go there and occasionally write bloggy posts on it that are dumb and uninspired but only about music. But anyway a myspace page isn't your own website.

Now I'm thinking, hey I'm a student again, I probably get to have a site on the university servers, eh? But I'm a teacher and there's a certain amount of responsibility and decorum you should have, right, and I like to be immature and foul-mouthed sometimes.

Anyway anyway, I can get my journaling needs out of the way with this diary and my others, blogger et al. (each of these has a different purpose, this one is the main one, the others I sometimes don't update for a year at a time)... so why do I want a website and why does it still feel weird to not have one?

Also there are privacy issues and you might think it's dumb but I'm still wary about that stupid devoted fan from a couple years ago and I don't want him finding out where I am.

However.

Last night for whatever reason I decided to start yet another onliney thing and what I'm going to put there is all my stories. Or some of my stories. Maybe I will or maybe I won't tell anyone about it, maybe I will or maybe I won't actually use it, I don't know.

Also I really kind of think that I might be interested in the creative writing MFA thing. Probably not next year, though. I could stay in this town (or not) for a year and start it the year after next. ? I'll be done with this MA next summer. Then I should try to get a real live adult job and be a real live adult for a year. Then, maybe, the MFA. I think I'll go talk to them next week and say, hello, I can't stand the thought of sitting in any goddamn fucking literature classes at the moment but maybe I'll be able to stomach it in two years woohoo, what do you think?

No, no. I'd go meet some professors and make friends with them. Professors like me, some of them. I'd find out what the requirements are and stuff, what classes you actually do have to take, how much writing you actually do, etc. etc. etc. Maybe they have a publication that I can get a job at. I like me some publications.

But I hate homework, and reading, and crap like that. I am a lazy lazy person with a lazy lazy brain.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019