1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Sunday, Apr. 23, 2006 - 14:20

I cannot find my bus pass right now. This is so annoying.

Seven baby ducks this morning.
Moving out next weekend.
Did I tell you I got a TAship? So school = yes.
There are lilacs in my back yard.
Where is my bus pass.


The Fairweather Friendships of Myrtle B. Jones, by Regina Toowomba

The door burst open with hurricane force and the behemoth figure standing in the doorway was silhouetted by the blinding light of the coastal sunrise. The figure paused and then squealed.

"Oh my god! Myrtle? Oh my god!" And it squealed again, a noise that chilled Myrtle to her bones and raised the hairs on the back of her neck. She took a step backward as the figure advanced toward her into the room. The face of the creature, although squashed and stretched in alarming ways, seemed vaguely familiar.

"Taffy?" Myrtle said quietly and tentatively.

The creature squealed again and then lunged at Myrtle, trapping her in a suffocating bear hug.

"Myrtle Jones, oh my god!" Taffy shrieked.

"Taffy Black, oh my god," Myrtle said, prying herself out of the embrace.

"It's Taffy Jones now, just like you!" Taffy convulsed into snorts and giggles.

"Oh, Taffy Jones, great." Myrtle wanted to leave but Taffy had her backed into a corner.

"Myrtle Jones, you're so funny. I remember how hilarious you were. Remember when your clarinet exploded and you killed that boy? Oh my god!"

"He didn't die, and it wasn't very funny."

"Oh yeah, I heard you got run out of town because of that. Eek. Sorry."

Next week: Myrtle and Taffy sit in an elegantly decorated room! Don't miss it!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019