1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8


Saturday, Feb. 11, 2006 - 19:46

For some reason I've always remembered the line in this short story: Everything's going to be OK, young champion. There will only be an ocean between us.

It's a good story, it's funny, there's enough explained to make it sad, and there's enough left unresolved to make you say, huh? that's the end? but...

Now this doesn't have much to do with the story but I want to say that to people now. They will probably think I'm crazy, they won't know what I'm referring to.

I just sent an email to my old friend the boy and I called him a young champion. Me, knowing the story - it makes me sad. And I've been worried about him this week... he's coming back tomorrow and I don't know what's been going on but I know it can't be all that great... family emergencies never are, are they? So I've been worried, and besides that there's our own little history, which I'm sad about anyway.

My point, always, is that I hope things work out for him.

And he'll probably think I'm a big weirdo for calling him a young champion but it means something to me, and he means something to me too, regardless of what he thinks about me.

Last week I talked to one of my sisters, and she was having a hard time, being sad, so I sent her a letter and at the end said, hang in there, young champion.

I don't know.

You know, the last three years, the most important things to me were thinking, writing, and listening to music. And over the last few months I've realized that's been changing. Thinking, writing, and listening to music are still important to me and I hope they always will be, but my people are becoming increasingly important to me.

So this phase of my life will be coming to an end, like I always knew it would, this February was always going to be the end of it, and I'm a little melancholy because I don't want it to. I will be very sentimental, I will look back at my law firm days...

I am leaving in a week, and I'll be gone a month, and (if I don't die on the trip) I'll have a job to come back to, and maybe it will be good, or maybe it will all be different, maybe my friends will be gone, maybe there will be new people, maybe I will do something different. It's spring, it's time for change.

I don't know why I'm so melancholy right now. Tired, I guess, and full of myself. I went out with Kevin and his friend last night and it was really fun, I had a really great time, and we were walking to the Hurricane late at night and I had one of those moments. Hey, here I am.

I totally love Seattle, and the things I have going on here. ♥

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019