1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

This is the entry where I talk about The Cloud Room and other musicy things.
Wednesday, Jun. 29, 2005 - 21:37

The other night I went to a show for the first time in weeks and weeks and weeks. The band I saw was: The Cloud Room. They were excellent! I owe them $3! Go to their site and listen to their songs and watch their video for Hey Now Now. Do it!

Does anyone remember when I went to that one show and didn't like that one band that everyone was dancing like robots to? No? Maybe I didn't write about it. I thought about it though. It happened, I saw a band and it was music for robots and I hated it.

Anyway, at this week's show, a man materialized to my right during the second band's set, and this man was dancing like a robotic parrot with cerebral palsy that had watched a few Michael Jackson videos in its youth. He was shuffling his feet, flapping his arms, shrugging his shoulders, turning his head side to side, and turning around. It was weird.

And there were three Japanese Rock Stars there. Two of them were wearing: black cowboy boots, long dark jeans, Rock Star belts, dark Rock Star jackets with shoulder pads in them, and large Rock Star sunglasses even though it was nighttime and they were in a bar. And they had very large ratted-up hair. They were all: hey, I'm a Rock Star.

They sat around, and then they left, and then they came back, but they didn't play, and I have no idea who they were, although they wanted me to.

I got there at 8:30 because I always hope that maybe the bands will start earlier than 9:30, but it never happens that way so I end up sitting there alone like a moron for an hour.

The first two bands were good, but not good enough to mention their names. Negativity spreads and I don't like to spread it and, they were good, I just didn't like their music. The second band, though, well, the bassist in The Cloud Room broke a string and so the singer of the second band let him use his bass, and that's so endearing and cute, I mean, he seemed really nice. And holy fuck man, their drummer must have taken intensity lessons from Henry Rollins, he was BEATING THE SHIT out of his drums. He took off his shirt and I was going to say that it was the first show I went to where a member of the band disrobed but that's not true, when I saw Marbles a month or two ago Robert Schneider took off his pants.

The Cloud Room! I like the guy's voice. Their drummer looks like an aviator. They'd tried to go to the Space Needle that day but couldn't afford it! After the show I wanted to get a t-shirt but I didn't have quite enough money because I am terrible, but the girl gave me one at the terribly reduced price I required! It's blue and it's my favorite t-shirt now.

Their CD is shoulder-thrustingly good, I've had it since it came out in April? or whenever.

Hello? Did anyone listen to that sexy sexy Spoon song? It's sexy, no?

The Cloud Room is from New York. I like them. I LIKE THEM.

Tomorrow I'm taking my Nick Drake CDs to rip to my computer there. Sometimes you just need some of that and everything else is annoying.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019