1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry in which I talk about a band that starts with a Q, and then I talk about the writing contest for the last time ever, and then I mention my sad ear.
Sunday, May. 15, 2005 - 17:56

Bandlove of the week: Quix*o*tic I saw them play wow it was 4 years ago? Was it? No okay it was 3 years ago at All Tomorrow's Parties in LA, and I liked them. A couple days ago I was in a record store and I'm all, "La la la, I'm not buying anything, just a CD for my sister, la la la, I'll just look at these -- ooo, wait, vinyl on sale? I have to look at them, la la la, I'm just looking, hey, here's a record by Quix*o*tic, who I saw wow was it 4 years ago? I liked them, I liked them and I want this, I'll get this, it's on sale."

Then I took it home and listened to it and SERIOUSLY it's totally excellent. TOTALLY. The album is called Mortal Mirror. On the front there are the two Billotte sisters looking very sullen, and they are sitting next to Death. I would be sullen too if I had to pose for a picture with Death and my sister, wouldn't you? The photo was taken by Barbara Billotte. THEY HAVE LOVELY VOICES! THEIR SONGS ARE seriously TOTALLY GOOD! They are from Washington D.C.

(You can read what I wrote about them three years ago here but I wouldn't if I were you because I just read it and it's very long and boring. I used to write longly and boringly, good thing I don't do that anymore.)

Now let's talk about the Exciting Spring Writing Contest for the final time. After tonight we'll never mention it again.

First I will talk about myself and my genre-defying epic entry. Like, you know, I made up this contest and I thought everyone would like write the same kind of thing as me because I project myself onto everything, you know. And so I had to test it out by writing something myself (first it was just going to be 5 minutes but I found out that was too short) and so I decided to write something so I was sitting there looking at my computer screen and ... I didn't have ANYTHING AT ALL TO WRITE ABOUT. I couldn't think of ANYTHING, but the timer was running, so I just started writing about what had happened that morning (the sun waking me up, not me being nude) and then it degenerated into a shootout because murder always spices things up. People love murder, they can't get enough of it, the dumber the better!

Well, like right after I posted the rules and regulations, Mr. Swordsman writes this story about swords, and masters, and killing, and stuff that I don't even know about! And it's all in the third person, no first person here. It's placed well, too, it starts at an interesting spot and ends at an interesting spot and I can never place my stories well like that.

And then Ms. Crazylady writes her entry about periods and her big tampon talk! I never had a tampon talk, I'd never be able to write about one. Girls and their gangs are so weird, and when you look back on it it's really funny, but when it's happening it's very very serious. I am left wondering, however; if it was really a "tampon talk", why did she have to use pads? Also, I saw a movie about periods last fall, and I never knew that some girls looked forward to getting their period. I never did. So, anyway, other people's experiences are always very interesting.

And then Ms. Violet, despite her claims to craphood, writes her entry and it's very funny and good and present tensy. I never write in the present tense, I never would have thought of that.

And then Yelayna writes something and uses the sentence prompt about Marjorina and March, which I used in my story because I made it up, and in my story Marjorina was Mrs. Heist's daughter who ends up killing her, but in Yelayna's Marjorina is her maid or something, and nobody dies!

The whole point here, the whole point of everything, is that they were all very good, and very different from anything I could have written.

Everyone is so interesting. And I think it's great, you can write these really good things in just 10 minutes, just imagine what you could do with 20 minutes.

In other news, my left ear is kind of fucked up.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019