1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I went to a show, today it's raining, but it's warm. The washer's probably done, I'll go put my clothes in the dryer now.
Saturday, Jan. 22, 2005 - 15:19

Oh my goodness, I was screwed over by a target=new webpage, those bastards, and I lost what I was typing.

So I'll retype it. And all my links have target=new, so hopefully I'll screw over someone else too.

So, ahem, as I was saying.

On Thursday night I went to the Crocodile Cafe and saw some bands. Now I'll tell you about them.

The first act was No-Fi Soul Rebellion. They are Andrea and her husband Mark. Mark was wearing trousers and a basketball jersey and glasses with no lenses. Andrea was playing a bass with no strings. Mark ran around and got all sweaty. You would have to see them live, it would be no use trying to explain it. Besides, I'm tired right now. But it's like crazy karaoke, except way way more. I give No-Fi Soul Rebellion two thumbs up, and the next time they come to town I will try to see them. That will be next month, in fact, at the Sunset Tavern in Ballard.

The second act won't even be named here because I didn't like them at all and I have nothing nice to say about them. I give that band two thumbs down, sorry.

The third act, the one I went to see, was Human Television. They played for like forty minutes and then said Thank You Goodnight and started unplugging and the drummer began dismantling but the crowd said One More! so they plugged back in and played one more, and then when they ended the crowd said One More! but the band said, We're sorry, that's our entire catalog, we don't have one more to play. It was cute. I give Human Television two thumbs up. Here, go to this page and click on Media and watch the video for Tell Me What You Want.

For a while I was standing in the loudest spot possible, I think. My ears were still ringing yesterday. It was the spot where it's all loud but you can't hear anything, you know, the vocals and guitars were all muffled. It sucked, then I moved and could hear much better.

There was a woman there who was dressed in black stiletto boots that went up to her knees, and a black dress with a jagged bottom, and a little white fuzzy jacket, and her hair was bleached white and it was short and sticking up, like her fuzzy jacket. She reminded me of a spider. She touched Mark's butt, she was trying to dance sexily, she tried to have this expression on her face that said Oh Man The Music, and where do those women live? You always see them at shows, they come out of nowhere, just like spiders, they're gross and not sexy, but you never see them in daylight. Where do they live? Where do they work? Why are they always at shows alone? Are they successful? Do they ever get any band members? Eww, probably from the second band I bet.

Also on Thursday there were protests around town. There was a demonstration by my building. I was unaware that it was going to happen until I got an email at work about how leaving the building might be difficult that evening. It was exciting. If I'd known about it I might have quit my job and participated.

Also on Thursday as I was walking around before the show (it's been so warm this week!) I saw a loud drug deal taking place. "You ain't the police, right?" the woman said to the man in the car. First I thought he was trying to pick up a hooker, but no, it was drugs.

On Friday night I went to Ravenna to look at a house. I don't think I'll live there, even though there's a toilet in the closet and a piano downstairs. It's too small, I'm too big for it, I think I'll move in with the three-legged cat.

Then this morning I went jogging and walking for a long time. It made me very hungry, I ate a grilled cheese sandwich with avocado and some tomato soup, and I'm hungry again so I might get some chips and smash up the rest of the avocado and eat them together.

I had a brilliant idea last night! A breakthrough! A BREAKTHROUGH! I WILL CHECK UP ON IT TODAY! I'm too tired to tell you about it right now though.

I like Human Television, I wish them much success and happiness.

That's all.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019