1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

April snowstorms bring something
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2011 - 18:21

Spent $45 at the record store today for another inch or so of records - got The Waitresses! Two Leo Kottkes, mainly because I can't resist Yakima records. Etc. My record collection has gotten to be about four feet long, I suppose, if I had them all lined up together. That includes two stupid Pearl Jam box sets. I've already got all their albums on vinyl but I also have to buy these new box sets, just because. I think I listened to the new mix of Ten when I got it, but the second box set I haven't even opened. I suppose my heirs will be able to sell these things off for tons of money.

It's been snowing here. There was a race this morning that I neglected to sign up for and when I saw the snow/rain coming down I was glad I wasn't doing the race. I hope it continues to be shitty, crappy, and cold, for two reasons: because I have to work so much now, and because my roommate is having another barbecue that he neglected to tell me about and I hope it gets sabotaged. It's inconsiderate to not tell your roommate that you're planning to have a bunch of people over, right?

Tomorrow: I have to work at 3. We're having a rehearsal for one of the large things that we've been working on. It happens Monday morning.

Also at 3 tomorrow the radio station is having a kickball game. Kickball, I suppose, is not conducive to a recently broken ankle, but I could wear my brace, if I were going, which I won't be because of work. I'm not much into the station anymore. There was the thing with the girl trying to steal my show, and now she's going to be the program director next year, and there's so many new people I don't know. There's that Little Joy song - "See no use perfecting lives with strangers" - which seems to be my approach to life. I would go hang out with the veteran DJs who are my friends, but... work. I hope to the high heavens that I get an interview for that job I applied for. I'm trying not to set myself up but PLEASE, FATES. PLEASE.

I had a bad dream this morning, that we were putting my dad into some assisted living home, and right before he left he said that there was a lot of food in the freezer that we could eat. I woke up then, upset. My dad always tries to feed me, always suggests things to eat when I go home. I miss home. I haven't been home since Christmas, I guess. I'll be taking off a Monday and Tuesday in three weeks and will go home for a few days, but it hardly seems like long enough, and it's definitely not soon enough.

My sister is not splitting up from her husband. I was afraid she'd change her mind. She's not happy and I don't know why she continues to waste her time. It's her time to waste, I guess, but I wish she'd go home for the summer like she was planning.

This might not be true, but in Europe they fill the fountains on May 15, whether it's been warm for a while or it's not warm enough yet. Maybe it's April 15. Meanwhile.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019