1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry in which I get all hyper and offensive about gays and bus abuse and brown people and those stuck up Australians.
Tuesday, Dec. 21, 2004 - 20:03

Today the transfer slips for the bus were purple; yesterday they were pink. I wonder if there's much transfer slip abuse, like people saving their transfer slips from week to week and reusing them the next day that color is used. I thought about trying to keep track of the colors, to see if there's any order to them (which, you'd think they wouldn't do that, right?) and stuff. But I won't, because it requires too much work to be worth the obsessive/compulsive rewards.

Here, this is from a newspaper article from November 22, entitled "Divorce getting scrutiny in bid to save marriage" by David Crary of the AP:

NEW YORK - "Protection of marriage" is the watchword for many activists fighting to prevent gays and lesbians from marrying. Some conservatives, however, say marriage in America began unraveling long before the latest gay-rights push and are pleading for a fresh, soul-searching look at the institution.

"When you talk about protecting marriage, you need to talk about divorce," said Bryce Christensen, a Southern Utah University professor who writes frequently about family issues.

While Christensen doesn't oppose the campaign to enact state and federal bans on gay marriage, he worries it's distracting from immediate threats to marriage's place in society.

"If those initiatives are part of a broader effort to reaffirm lifetime fidelity in marriage, they're worthwhile," he said. "If they're isolated - if we don't address cohabitation and causal divorce and deliberate childlessness - then I think they're futile and will be brushed aside."

... Etc. ...

I added the bold myself. Now I will capitalize it: COHABITATION AND CASUAL DIVORCE AND DELIBERATE CHILDLESSNESS.

All those bastard childless people! Shitting on the institution of marriage! Bah!

(Except for brown childless people, we like them, it's the white childless people we don't like. Please, brown people, try to be more childless.)

(The article does not, in fact, go on to talk about brown childless people at all, I was just extrapolating and, perhaps, overreacting, and, perhaps, making a large mountain out of one stupid person's tiny molehill.) Gays and lesbians! Cohabitators! Casual divorcees! Ahh!

ANYWAY.

Yeah Southern Hemisphere enjoy the sun while you have it because we're taking it back! Huahh! USA! USA!

Also, this morning on the bus, I got on and there were only two other people on it, a White Lady and a Brown Man, and the Brown Man moved away from me and said to himself loudly in a way that you see in movies from Funny Gay Men: "I don't like teenagers, I stay away from them, there's legal problems with that, mmm hmm, you heard me and you know, that's why you're laughing, mmm hmm." And, I think he was talking to himself about me, he thought I was a teenager, and he didn't want to sit near me. I mean, I wasn't even really that close to him, but whatever, he was crazy, like half the world.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019