1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry in which I talk about overrated pop rock stars, sitting on my butt at my computer, and the election, and then I typed something about how gross I am but I erased it.
Saturday, Nov. 06, 2004 - 17:25

Not only do Ryan and Bryan Adams share everything but the B, including a profession, they also share a birthday. I know it's been pointed out by everyone who cares (and I don't really), but I just heard it on the radio yesterday. I used to not like Ryan Adams, not that I'd heard any of his music, but just because I'd heard about him kicking someone out of his audience who yelled at him to play Summer of '69 and I thought the guy sounded pretty humorless. Yeah I'm sure it gets old, but still. But then, I already wrote about this, but anyway I saw him at Bridge School one year and he played and danced to a Hank Williams song and he also said, pointing at the kids on the stage behind him, "This is the coolest thing I've ever done," meaning playing at Bridge School, and from then on I decided to like him in theory. And then I heard some songs of his on the radio which I didn't mind at all, but there was one in particular that caught my fancy that said, "I used to be sad, now I'm just bored with you," which I think is totally kickass. It is, come on.

I've got a couple thousand words in my novel written and it's tiresome. I'm bored of it, and so is my narrator.

I think I need a new chair. This one hurts my hiney after prolonged usage.

Also I've discovered that I can listen to Radiohead while writing. I can't listen to most music and write at the same time because I get distracted by the music. Trance would probably work, but I don't have any. So Radiohead.

On Wednesday I talked to a girl who may or may not become my roommate in a few weeks. Before she called me she'd been watching John Kerry's concession speech and crying. She said, "I knew I needed to call you, but I was just sitting there bawling." People are very upset, genuinely upset. Some are mad, some are sad. Some, of course, are happy. The stupid editor of the stupid newspaper here wrote an editorial that said democracy is the winner of the election. Whatever that means. Anyway, millions of people were very empassioned about this election, and so they went out and voted, and that's good, and now we'll see what happens. I never like to give into Doomsday prophecies, and negative attitudes spread, so all I'll say is that we'll see what happens. Hopefully we'll all stay as informed as we are now, and hopefully we'll keep our interest in the things our government is doing.

And hopefully more people are now aware that our government works for us, it's determined by us, we own it, and not the other way around.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019