1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry in which I talk about Fahrenheit 9/11 and the Britney Spears video in which her bosoms get blurred out.
Friday, Oct. 15, 2004 - 00:00

It is exactly midnight on my computer as I start typing this. I have an eye doctor appointment in eight hours and forty-five minutes.

I don't know how anyone can help but cry at the beginning of Fahrenheit 9/11 when the screen goes black.

I just watched that again, I rented it from Safeway. I rented it so my dad could watch it. He didn't want to watch it, he's very Republican. But he did, because I made cookies ("You're bribing me?"), and he watched it all the way through without hemming or hawing, without fidgeting too much and without saying loudly "Oh for crying out loud", which is what he probably imagined himself doing if he ever had to watch it. Or at least that's what I imagined him doing. But he didn't do that because I think he was surprised at how good the film is. Yes it's biased, of course, but it's solid, it has substance, it brings up very real issues and uses very real facts to back up Michael Moore's side of the story. Yeah it's propaganda. Everything is, so you take everything with a grain of salt, you get your information from many different sources and you balance it all out in your head. Fahrenheit 9/11 is a source of information, and now my dad has added the information he got from that film to the information he's gotten from Fox News.

He'll still vote for George W, I'm sure, but maybe now at least he'll understand why I won't. And maybe right now he's thinking about dead babies and oil pipelines, and maybe for just a second right before he checks that box he'll stop and wonder if it was all worth it.

It's good to have primary sources. My dad had heard about this movie and had talked about it, about how biased and wrong it is, but he'd never seen it. You gotta know your enemy, at least a little.

Which is why I watch MTV.

That was a switch from politics to music, right there.

A lot of people say they hate Britney Spears or Christina Aguilera or all these other "new" "artists" without knowing anything about them. Christina Aguilera can sing, man, although I have no use for her songs whatsoever. And that quiet song of Britney's is pretty good. Plus, she dies in the video. I like that song, I'm going to put it on my iPod.

I HAVEN'T BEEN READING ROBINSON CRUSOE AT ALL. I'M BORED OF IT RIGHT NOW, HE COMPLAINS TOO MUCH, AND HE'S DUMB, AND ALL I WANT TO CONCERN MYSELF WITH AT THE MOMENT IS MY OWN COMPLAINING. I'll read it on the train tomorrow.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019