1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Robinson Crusoe Book Club meeting number one
Tuesday, Oct. 05, 2004 - 20:58

Righto, here we go, talking about Robinson Crusoe. And thus begins our first meeting of This Diary's Book Club in a long long time.

Me: Robinson Crusoe.

You: It seems like a long book. A long book without any chapters.

Me: No pictures either, which is hard to swallow given the brightly colored illustrations of the last book I read, Treasure Island.

You: I sense a theme here.

Me: Yes, I decided to read nautically-related adventure tales because I've decided to go to Australia on a freighter next year.

You: Robinson Crusoe isn't really the best book to read then, you know, because he gets marooned. Shipwrecked.

Me: You're afraid I'm going to jinx myself?

You: No. Never mind.

Me: So what do you think of the book?

You: Robinson Crusoe complains all the time about everything.

Me: Yes. Please elaborate.

You: He's all, "Oh man, my life sucked ass, it completely sucked ass, woe is me, woe is me, I wish I'd never been born it sucked so much."

Me: He does seem a little melodramatic, and a little negative.

You: A little? He was a slave and he escaped from that, so he should be happy about that, you know, value his freedom, but instead he just complains. He went out on the ocean, saw the world, and all he can talk about is how seasick he got. And he gets shipwrecked, and presumably gets rescued since he's writing about it, and he could concentrate on how stupid lucky he is, but instead he thinks he's the unluckiest person alive.

Me: He could win the lottery and turn that into a disaster.

You: He could, he's such a complainer.

Me: That'll be our next writing contest.

You: What will?

Me: Write a little thing about what would happen if Robinson Crusoe won the lottery. And like the other contests, if you enter, you have to tell me, so I know, and don't write a lot of long boring crap because I probably won't read it. And I'll probably be the only one to enter because I'm probably the only one reading this, but that's okay, because then I'll win automatically.

You: You don't really make it enticing at all. Why should anyone enter?

Me: Because.

You: Alright. So are we done with this meeting?

Me: Not yet.

You: What else?

Me: Whenever I think of Robinson Crusoe I think of the Gilligan Island theme song and how Crusoe is pronounced.

You: Wow. That's deep.

Me: Okay, we're done for now. Keep reading.

You: How far?

Me: I'm about a quarter of the way through now, so, like, whatever, we'll have another meeting in a few days.

You: I'm tired, I'm glad it's over.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019