1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I gotta say it was a good day
Tuesday, Jun. 29, 2004 - 21:08

I just had to document the day. Today I:

  • went swimming for the first time (and gave a minor gasp upon resurfacing, although the water wasn't really THAT cold, I'm just getting old and am easily shocked)
  • told my boss I didn't want to work full time anymore, so I'll henceforward be able to indulge in Dollar Beer night with reckless abandon - and my boss was pretty nice and understanding about it and wasn't an ass (although he was wearing a Hooters tshirt... yeah, he's an ass)
  • woke up at 4:30 and couldn't talk myself into going back to sleep for the last half hour
  • didn't go for an evening bike ride, but that's okay because I went for an afternoon bike ride

It was a good day, relatively. It doesn't sound like much, and actually it wasn't, but oh well, I'm just excited that summer's started and that I'm not going to be working on Fridays anymore.

And now back to Howard Zinn:

Should not the real motivations of governments be scrutinized? They always claim to be fighting for democracy, for liberty, against aggression, to end all wars--but is that not a handy way to mobilize a population to support war, indeed, absolutely necessary because people do not instinctively want to fight?

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019