1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

An entry consisting of a question meant to be rhetorical because NOTHING does, and a quote that is supposed to make you think about the current war. Maybe it won't, but combined with other quotes I'll type in eventually, it will.
Saturday, Jun. 19, 2004 - 19:11

So you tell me: what smells better than a ponderosa pine tree?

And now here's a quote from Howard Zinn, You Can't Be Neutral on a Moving Train (I was going to type out a whole big entry about it = boring, so instead I'll just do this): There is no war of modern times which has been accepted more universally as just [than World War II]. The fascist enemy was so totally evil as to forbid any questioning. They were undoubtedly the "bad guys" and we were the "good guys," and once that decision was made there seemed no need to think about what we were doing. But I had become aware, both from the rethinking of my war experiences and my reading of history, of how the environment of war begins to make one side indistinguishable from the other.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019