1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

How come my bread never rises?
Thursday, Nov. 20, 2003 - 09:21

I can see the sky today a little, bits of blue showing through the clouds. I'd forgotten about the winter cloud cover, how you wake up in the morning and it's dark and then you get home in the afternoon and it's dark, and did the sun forget to come out today?

Anyway, on Monday driving up the mountain, at the first switchback it turned to winter, snow covering the ground. And I remembered why snow is so important: it brightens the place up a bit. There's nothing brighter than a snowy night, you know, when there's snow all over the ground and it's reflecting all the light it can find.

Yesterday it was a veritable blizzard all day up there. But it rained down here, it rained mud, people said, red mud. Red mud? But there's no red dirt around here. How can there be red mud coming from the sky?

I have two days off. I've had to get up at 6:30 this week in order to catch a ride up by 7:30. Today I got to sleep in but couldn't go back to sleep after about 7. It was bright in my room. I thought, I wonder if it's snowed? It hadn't, it was just the bits of blue sky showing through the clouds.

Meanwhile, the dogs were wrestling.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019