1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I am still in Melbourne; this is an old entry; I'll write a new one in a few minutes
Friday, Oct. 31, 2003 - 13:45

Did I already write this? I keep remembering little bits of conversations I've had but I can't remember who when and where. Like this: "Pants, that's the funniest." Who said that and where was I? And someone said that they didn't shake the dirt off of weeds, but I have no idea who said it. There are all these other things too.

The radio station playing at this internet place plays such old songs and pretends they're still cool. The last time I was here they played that song about doing it like they do on the Discovery Channel.

The pants and jacket I'm wearing now smell like cigarette smoke. Melbourne, I'm predicting, will be a busy time, at least this week will be. Last night I was at a bar with three people and had a moment when I thought, "What am I doing here with these people I don't even know? How did I get here?" A couple nights ago I had another moment: "Okay, I'm sitting in a basement in downtown Melbourne watching Roswell on the telly." It's weird. How did I get here? What am I doing here? Have I really been in Australia for two months? What have I been doing all this time?

Today I met someone who DOESN'T LIKE AUSTRALIA. It's surprising, because she doesn't have any other signs of insanity, just that.

I don't like to do touristy things because I think they're generic and a waste of money. And going to museums is boring. I'd rather just walk around the city. That's more interesting to me. Cheaper too. But when people ask me what I've done I have nothing to tell them. I'm very boring.

And I'm worried about my new pens surviving the trip back unblotchified. How can I prevent their blotchification? Should I put them in my checked bag, or should I carry them on? Should I try to put them in a sealed thing? Or is it all futile? Am I doomed to write with blotchy pens? Should I just give up and accept my fate? But really, should I put them in my checked bag or carry them on? I'm seriously asking for advice, folks.

Everyone wants to talk to me about McDonald's.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019