1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

some of the things I've been doing
Sunday, Sept. 28, 2003 - 11:57

Dear internet,

I went over a week without typing at you or looking at your lovely face, and I think that's the longest we've gone without seeing each other since you were invented. Unless I didn't check my email in Scotland. Then it's the longest we've gone without seeing each other since then.

Here's some stuff:

I left Brisbane and went to ... crap, dude, oh, Bellingen. I couldn't remember the name. Then I went to a place and stayed with some people for a week. I saw: a billion cockroaches (a.k.a. cockies - how cute!), a billion and one daddy long leggy spiders, quadrillions of spiderwebs (literally, you'd walk up a path you walked on two minutes before and it would be covered in new spiderwebs), a big fat hairy tarantula-type spider, a python in a tree branch like 6 feet off the ground that I'd been working under for 15 minutes without noticing, a big shiny cockroach like the kind they eat on Fear Factor scurrying down the wall right by my bed, thousands of little fish that came up and touched my legs while I was in the river, and one beautiful shiny black cat named Astro. And one time I was walking in the dark in the yard and I heard the menacing flapping of large wings coming at me. I flinched and the wings stopped. Then I ran inside.

A lesser individual would have crumbled in the face of such abundant wildlife. I have to admit, the fish were really scary. I hate fish. And I sort of got sick of the spiders. There were just so many that eventually I started killing them, even though I am a staunch spider pacifist.

Oh, so many things happened! Due to terminological differences (which might be surprising for someone who once had linguistic aspirations, but then again, I'm a grad school dropout, so it's not really that surprising) I accidentally agreed to go on a date with an Irish guy. And I got hit on for the third time in my life, this time by a female. And I got to hang out with a band until the wee hours of the morning. And I saw shooting stars and constellations and planets.

And now I'm back in Sydney, and I'm going on a cruise tonight.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019