1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I don't know braille. Should it be capitalized? I don't even know that. I tried to train my dog to be a seeing-eye dog when I was a kid, but it didn't work.
Saturday, Jul. 26, 2003 - 19:19

When I begin typing in this little white box I rarely have an idea of whither my fingers will go.

Today they've decided to go nowhere at all. We're just going to sit in an elevator for the entire entry, because that's what I had to do a couple days ago.

It wasn't that bad, and I'm exaggerating anyway (as I am wont to do) because I got to take breaks and stuff.

But I sat there and really, what else is there to do in an elevator (after you've already done some ballet moves on the bars) but try to figure out the braille alphabet?

So that's what I did. I figured out E and P and T and O and H... actually, I totally can't remember what I figured out. Oh, L was one of them. But from what I did figure out, I think that whoever put the braille on the elevator buttons didn't know braille. Like on the Phone button, it had P and H and O and E, but no N. And, no, the Stop button actually said Stop under it. But there were others that I thought were wrong. Believe me, there were. It was totally wrong, and I think that's totally dangerous, because like what if a blind person got stuck in the elevator and needed to use the phone but couldn't find it, could only find the Phoe button?

Actually, I don't know braille at all, and my doubts about the integrity of the braille elevator button designer was more than likely caused by my own ineptitude.

But I just wanted to write about that, how I sat there staring at elevator buttons.

Oh, P.S., Major shoutout to FAT who is playing in a rock and roll show tonight in a city called Cowgary.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019