1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The first of May, the start of something
Thursday, May 1, 2003 - 16:15

Happy May. Fun things to do now. One of which is an exciting new thing. Here it is: I will give you a sentence, and then you'll write the rest of the story. Or whatever. This will probably only happen once, because I only have one sentence that I'm willing to give up, that I haven't been able to finish myself. It is this:

And so I left that place, never expecting to return.
So go on, finish it.

One of the problems I've had with it is that I'm not entirely happy with the wording of the second clause. Never intending to return? Expecting to never return? I've never been able to decide. So change it if you like.

Also, I'm not sure everyone is convinced of this, but seriously dudes, it's okay to split infinitives. I promise. You have my permission. So expect to never return or intend to never return if you wish.

And while I'm at it, I might as well make this a contest. So if anyone actually does this, they should tell me, and then I'll read what they write, and then I'll award prizes. The prizes shall consist of nothing. But they will be prestigious prizes nonetheless.

Also, there should be a word limit, because I don't like to read long boring crap. So I'd say no more than 1000 words. This doesn't make for a very long story, more of a thingamabob. So just write a little thingamabob, starting with that sentence. Okay? Okay? Thank you.

Obviously, probably, I will not be participating, because I've never been able to figure out how it should go. I thought up this sentence probably five years ago, or rather it popped into my head five years ago, so really I've been working on it for five years and I really haven't even figured out this first sentence. But who really cares.

If no one does this, though, I'll be forced to do it myself.

Yes, I know this has been a weird entry. I don't know why exactly, but thoughts are not coming to me in any sort of complete form right now. Also my hands are jumpy. Jumpy!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019