1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Baby birds, jean jacket
Thursday, April 24, 2003 - 15:42

The little finches--did I ever tell you about the bird nest in our outside stairwell?--have been busy the last couple days because their eggs hatched either Monday or Tuesday. It sounds weird to say it like that... their eggs hatched. Their babies were born either Monday or Tuesday.

I thought I saw a little head sticking up from the nest one day, and then the next day I thought I saw it again, but I also thought it could have been a feather floating around in the wind, so I wasn't sure if it was a baby or not. The finches were acting different, though, so I suspected. But today I saw the babies, two or three of them, their whole heads with their little mouths open.

They've started peeping today, quietly.

And there's bird poop on the wall next to the nest.

There's also bird poop on the seat of my bike.

So that's big news.

Other big news: I bought a jean jacket yesterday.

This is big news because I've talked to two people recently who confessed to me that they were considering buying jean jackets. I thought that was funny, like buying a jean jacket is such a big fucking deal. But I'd been thinking about buying one myself, and I came very close to buying one as long ago as November. So apparently jean jacket buying is a big step, since there are at least three people in this world who've been pondering this, talking about it, considering it. I think I'm the first of the three to actually go through with it.

I got it at the same thrift store I got my typewriter.

I looked at the typewriters they had, too, because I might become a typewriter collector, but they didn't have any in cases. There was one I almost bought, a nice one, in a case, but it was gone yesterday, and they only had big big non-portable ones. They're nice too, I'm sure, and if I'd asked to look at them closely I probably would've been suckered in by them. But they're too big and heavy and quite honestly I don't need another typewriter and I don't have a place to put them. So I got a jean jacket instead. It smells like thrift store, even after I washed it.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019