1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I'm in Brisbane
Thursday, February 6, 2003 - 18:02

Some things about Australia:

Brisbane and Melbourne might as well be spelled Brisbn and Melbn. Or Brizbn if you want to be picky.

The apparent uniform for young women here is knee-length skirts and flat sandals.

I walked like 99 miles today in the humid heat and rain.

You know those Subaru Brats? There are tons here, except they aren't Subarus, they're all kinds, like Ford and Peugot (or a similar company with a similar complicated emblem) and even BMW.

Who needs first class when you have Qantas? They gave us a travel toothbrush with a mini tube of toothpaste. Plus the in-flight entertainment system had games! Tetris and Solitaire and others! I didn't play as much as one might have guessed. I was bored.

I saw the sunrise before it hit the earth. And during the night I looked out and saw stars below me on the horizon.

Actually, I was really cramped. *That's* why you need first class. Or business class.

How do they know where to go on the road? All the lines are white and dashed! How do they know what the middle line is?!?

Keeping to the right is so ingrained in me that it seems just unnatural and wrong to go to the left. I keep seeing cars stopped in the middle of the road and it alarms me, and then I see that they're turning right, which is the equivalent of our left, so it all makes sense after a while.

Cough cough, I'm being smoked out. I'm going to go get a kebab and then go to bed.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019