1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Stupid violins and spammers
Rursday, September 12, 2002 - 8:45

Mr. Pooh recently got me a violin for our anniversary. Last night I went to a fiddle class. It sucked.

First of all, it was a *beginning* fiddle class, but most of the people there weren't beginners.

Second, I had to pee, so I put my stuff down and ran around trying to find a bathroom. I found a men's bathroom, but not a women's.

While I was running around--which was before class was supposed to start anyway--people were tuning their violins and I missed out on it.

When I got there, there wasn't time to tune anymore, so my violin was out of tune. I tried to quietly tune it, and I broke a string, so I only got to (sort of) play for like 5 minutes.

My violin is new, and I think it might be better to have a broken in violin. The pegs holding the strings won't stick, so even if I try to tune it, it doesn't stay in tune. And the bow doesn't grab the strings like it should. I guess I just need to put more rosin on it, but I've put on gobs and gobs and it still doesn't grab.

And finally, the lady who's supposed to be teaching the class, who, by all accounts, is a good teacher, is not teaching the class. Instead, some guy who doesn't like technical things is teaching it. He doesn't tell you where to put your fingers or what notes you're playing or how to hold the bow or anything. You're just supposed to go. I have no problem playing by ear or playing by feel, but I also like the mathematical aspect of playing an instrument.

Also, the guy thought I'd put my violin away because it was too hard or I was scared or something. Fucker!

So anyway, it was dumb.

Yesterday I got an email entitled "Raping animal lovers go to the extreme!!!!!!!!!!". I've been getting at least 10 spams a day. Goddamn fucking spammers. What do they get out of it? I never open their stupid emails, even if I see they're from someone named Debbie or John (and even though the chances are high that I'd know someone named Debbie or John, I actually don't) or even if they have such tantalizing subject lines as "Your help needed immediately" or "Men,size DOES matter, grow INCHES today!!!!!" or "Hot young high school girls get crazy!!!!" or "Make 500K working from home!!!" or, like one I just got from Margret, "Claim a Free $25 Gift Card to Kmart(R)!".

p.s. I wish Katie Couric would go away.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019