1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Some things learned while abroad
Sunday, August 4, 2002 - 10:01

I'm back. I had a marvelous time. Miss Kitty had a nice time on her vacation too. Here are some observations made on my trip:

1. Backpacking makes my collarbones ache.

2. I don't think I really have anything against any particular nationalities, but I really hate large groups of people from the same country, like large groups of Italians (why do they always chant?) or large groups of Japanese (why are there always so many of them?).

3. It's funny how different countries have their own national toilets. Like the German toilets have the shelf to catch poop turds (supposedly they're German, although I've only seen them in Austria). And the toilets in the UK are all round and have very violent flushes.

4. I really hate hostels.

5. My fingernails mysteriously started growing (except the two middle ones) and my hands and wrists stopped hurting. I now totally understand how rehab works. When you're away from your life you can adapt to a new life. I stopped biting my fingernails and didn't have any computer games to play. But now I'm back and have bitten some of my fingernails off and here I am on the computer again.

That's all I can think of now.

Oh, and congratulations to crazylady on the recent arrival of Miss Thing.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019