1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

ATP, part trois
Saturday, March 30, 2002 x 3 - 16:57

This is part three of my ATP review. Here's part one and part two.

Then Cat Power came out. I was expecting Cat Power to be a group, but it was just a person. I guess her name is Cat? Oh, I guess it isn't. She was really good and funny. I liked her. I guess she'd broken her finger a few weeks before, so she couldn't really play her guitar very well.

She kept stopping in the middle of the songs and apologizing. It was funny. She also kept clearing her throat, and then apologizing for that. After a while, some of the people in the audience got annoyed by that and started yelling mean things. Like I said, not everyone there was a music fan. There were quite a few fartknockers there.

I read a review that said Eddie Vedder's performance was "uninspired" and that Cat Power was the best of the night because of the way she won the audience. That review was dumb. Eddie Vedder interacted with the audience all night, and fuck, uninspired? God damn. And Cat Power alienated some people. Even though they were fartknockers, you can't really call that winning over the audience. The reviewer (it was someone from the UCLA student newspaper) complained that Eddie Vedder didn't play any "obvious" choices, by which I'm sure he meant Jeremy or Alive or other songs from Ten. That reviewer was a fartknocker.

Some guy (probably the organizer - I'm a fartknocker myself and didn't recognize him) came out and said there were people outside waiting to get in, so he told us to all stand up. So everyone rushed the stage. After a long time, Television came out. I had expected lots of people to leave after Eddie Vedder, and many did, but many also stayed for Television.

There were technical problems. After about twenty minutes, they'd played one song. We stayed for a nother song or two, and then left.

A couple days later, I dropped off my film to get developed. The stupid fuckheads didn't print any pictures. Yeah, it was dark, but dude, there was stuff on the negatives. They could have printed the pictures. So I took the negatives back to get (re)prints made. I wrote on the envelope "Please don't underexpose". I got the pictures back yesterday. What did they do? They underexposed them. So the parts that are supposed to be black are kind of gray. The parts that are supposed to be people are kind of not people. Those incompetent fuckheads. I swear. If I had a darkroom, or even an extra room where I could set up our darkroom equipment, and if it weren't so hard to do color, I'd print the fucking pictures myself. It would be a lot better than the machines that those incompetent fuckheads run. Arrrrghhh!

The end.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019