1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

I'm going crazy
Monday, March 4, 2002 - 16:23

We saw A Beautiful Mind a couple weeks ago, and now I think I'm going crazy. I look for patterns everywhere. I think most freptologists do. That's probably one of the things that make for a good freptologist. But it's starting to interfere with my enjoyment of life.

For example, for my birthday we went to the symphony. There were plant arrangements placed across the stage. There were two types of plant arrangements, each with two variants:

1. Little white flowers and little leafy plants. The white flowers could be a. on the right side or b. on the left side.

2. Big white flowers and big vine-y plants. Again, the white flowers could be a. on the right side or b. on the left side.

Across the stage, the plants alternated from variety 1 to variety 2. However, whoever arranged them did not take into account that each variety had mirror image variants. They were random. They went something like this: 1a 2b 1b 2a 1a 2a 1b |center of stage| 1a 2b 1a 2a 1b 2b 1a

It was exTREMEly annoying. I was distracted the whole concert, trying to find a pattern for them.

Last night there was this watch alarm going off every once in a while. I tried to find the pattern in it, how often it was going off. But then I fell asleep.

I used to only set my alarm for mathematically pleasing times, like 7:25 (7+2=5) or 8:23 (8=2^3) or 8:24 (8=2x4) or 11:11 (1=1=1=1). Or I used to set it for 9 minutes before a mathematically pleasing time, so that I could hit the snooze once. But I don't do that anymore because I always sleep through the alarm anyway. Besides, we got a new alarm clock with a dumb snooze on it, like 7 minutes or something, so I don't even bother snoozing, I just remain sleeping.

Anyway, A Beautiful Mind was really good. I was not expecting to like it, just because it had gotten so many good reviews and had so much hype, and so I was all prepared to be contrary. But it was really good, even though I'm going crazy because of it. Russell Crowe deserves an Oscar.

p.s. Another pattern, actually a sequence: this entry is 020304.html.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019