1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Slurp Boy takes a wife
Wensday, Feb. 13, 2002 - 10:08

The other day I was at school talking to some friends. The Slurper was hanging around, waiting for me to finish talking to them so that he could talk at me. Finally I could hold him off no longer.

"So. What's up."

"Not much," I said. What other response is there for that greeting?

"How are you?" I asked, knowing full well that when you say "how are you" to the Slurper, he'll tell you exactly how he is. He never just says "fine".

"Well, I'm better than last week," he said. He was sitting there waiting for me to ask him about last week, and I knew that he'd sit there and not say anything until I asked him. "Alright, so what happened last week?" I asked, not really interested.

"One of my old teachers who I owe a lot to tried to arrange a marriage for me."

I burst out laughing. I mean, who arranges marriages anymore?

So the Slurper tells me that this guy wanted him to marry his niece, but the niece "has someone else" and was really upset about the attempt to make her marry. So the Slurper called the teacher and said that he was honored that the teacher would think of him as a potential nephew-in-law, but no thanks.

THEN the Slurper said, "A lot of people would say I made a huge mistake, because basically he handed her to me on a silver platter. But that platter was tarnished."

It was then that I realized that the Slurper belongs to a completely different culture. He was seriously interested in marrying some girl he never met just because one of his teachers suggested it.

Then the Slurper said, "But I have my eye on this other girl. I'll be seeing her in April, and then I'll find out if she's interested."

Interested in dating the Slurper, or in marrying him? I think he was talking about a nother arranged marriage.

This is weird, isn't it? I have to go to school to gossip about this now.

Poor Slurp Boy. I guess he figures he doesn't have much of a chance getting a wife on his own. And he's probably right. I mean, who wants to marry someone who slurps tea that loudly?

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019