1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

The problematic year ahead of me, with a touch of melodrama. Beware the ides of January.
Tuesday, January 15, 2002 - 16:29

Hooray to Andrew for getting rid of that damn blue navigation bar! Hooray!

I had a meeting with my advisor today about my seminar paper. I am really stupid, but she's really nice and pretends like she doesn't know I'm stupid. So she told me about a bunch of stuff that smarter people would've already known about, and then she gave me encouragement and was all, "Oh, this paper is going to be great! It'll be just great! I'm really excited! This is so nice!" She's the type of person who talks with exclamation points, too.

I felt bad, because my paper, if I ever actually write it, won't be great. This is probably what it will be like:

I. Introduction. This paper is about [certain phenomenon].

II. Evidence. See, here it is. [followed by some examples]

III. Conclusion. Yup, I told you so.

The big problem is that I kind of want to turn this paper into my thesis, but if it's a big pile of crap I can't really do that, can I? Who wants to turn a big pile of crap into a bigger pile of crap?

But I'm running into a timing problem. See, Pearl Jam is back in the studio, which means some time this year they're going to release a new album, which means shortly after that they're going on tour. During the last tour I vowed to follow them around during their next tour, and that's what I intend to do. But: What if I don't finish my thesis by the time the tour starts??? I will have to drop out of school without an MA, and that would be totally lame. What would I say to them? "Sorry, I can't finish my thesis because I have to follow this band around because I love them." That would be embarassing.

Do you see my dilemma?

And if I don't finish this year, and if Pearl Jam doesn't tour this year, I'll have to go to school next year, which means I'll have to TA, which means I'll have to tell them I don't want to TA again.

My life is nothing but trials and tribulations. When will this torment cease?!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019