1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Guestbook, gossip, gratification, guilt, grad student
Wensday, October 3, 2001 - 18:02

Here's what's been happening to me lately:

Yesterday started out bad. I was being an Eeyore again, and I was convinced that we were going to get kicked out of our apartment and that I was going to get an email telling me that I didn't get the job I applied for. I started feeling crappy and insecure because I knew that's how I'd feel once those things happened. But then things got good, thanks to the internet. I got an e-card from my friend Sarah, which was nice, and then some of my dairyland e-acquaintances signed my guestbook and even sent email! Hooray!

I didn't do any homework yesterday, but I did repot some of my plants.

Today, like yesterday, started out bad but then got good. I had classes all day. Mr. Knowitall is in all of them and was being particularly tiresome and buttkissy. But then after my classes I sat around for about two hours and gossiped. Ain't nothin more fun than gossiping. I try not to do it too much, but sometimes you just have to. Sometimes it's nice to find out that other people find Mr. Knowitall as annoying as I do.

And oh yeah, I got the job.

But now I feel bad about gossiping. Gossiping is instant gratification. It makes you feel good while you're doing it (Look at me! I'm so much better than that silly Mr. Knowitall!), but then afterwards it makes you feel selfconscious (At least Mr. Knowitall does his homework, and I never do. What if Mr. Knowitall heard? I bet they're talking about me right now and laughing harder than they were when I was making fun of Mr. Knowitall. Poor me!).

But at least I'm done with classes for the week. Ah, the life of a dumb grad student. Good times, good times.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Saturday, Sept. 28, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2019
- - Saturday, Sept. 21, 2019
- - Thursday, Sept. 19, 2019
- - Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019