1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Tuesday, Dec. 14, 2021 - 11:02

I was getting personal training sessions last week at my new gym. It destroyed me. I had a race on Saturday and had to run it without using my hamstrings, which were out of commission. I went to my first group class at the gym last night and it was fine except during the first activity my quads reminded me that they were not quite healed from last week. So - sore.

I know I haven't gotten any benefit yet from going to the gym for an entire week now, but I feel 100% better already. It just feels shitty just sitting around when you haven't earned it, and it feels even worse doing that for like two years straight. We'll see how it goes but I want to sign up for a 50 miler in June again. It's too early at this point to commit, but hopefully I'll be strong enough by then to do it. Even if I don't end up doing it, I want to be able to do it.

I'm feeling a lot better about my project work now, too - I've already finished my ticket for the sprint that hasn't started yet, and I was able to do it all on my own without help from the guy who's mentoring me. It's a super simple task - just swapping out one field with another - but I'm glad I was able to figure it out and get things working. And uploaded. And tested. I had a problem with node but was able to fix that, vs code is working better for me, I still haven't pushed anything to git but overall things are better so I think I'll be able to start being a semi-productive team member soon.

Still not feeling great about being a manager, and not looking forward to having to do all these year-end reviews, but I'll survive. And we'll see how it goes next year.

Snowing.

Update on saving the universe: jarofporter and narcissa voted in favor of me saving the universe, I voted against it, but 2-1 they win. So I'll sign up for the race in February and things should finally stop being so bizarre after that. Again, my sincere apologies for fucking everything up - I had no idea!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Jan. 10, 2022
- - Friday, Jan. 07, 2022
- - Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2021
- - Monday, Dec. 27, 2021
- - Friday, Dec. 24, 2021