1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Dec. 27, 2021 - 22:32

Drove back yesterday and had today off work to just sit around, watch movies, drink hot chocolate, and think about scanning in receipts for my FSA (which I didn't do).

It is mighty chilly here - around 11 degrees in the morning and I think it might have gotten up to 15 degrees in the afternoon. It's supposed to get colder tomorrow, and the cold will stick around all week - although not as cold as they'd been saying. We may get to a couple degrees below zero, but we'll see - we were supposed to get to negative double digits.

Logged into my work laptop tonight to see if anything important was going on with my project or - really - to see if there were any surprise early-morning meetings tomorrow, but instead my project meetings for the day are all cancelled! And Friday AND Monday are holidays! I've been filled with dread about my job, wishing I could retire or magically become a historical researcher or magically find a wealthy man to take over the finances so I can sit around and be a slob - but, at least this week, my job will be fine! Hooray, another week of reprieve.

Today I made chili and the best cornbread I've ever made - I used melted butter in it. Last week I made cinnamon rolls for the first time - making cinnamon rolls is lovely. I'll figure out how to make a half-batch so I can make them all the time. I left my kitchen thermometer at my parents' house :( and should I buy a new one or make them mail it to me? I can't make bread without it!

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Jan. 17, 2022
- - Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2022
- - Monday, Jan. 10, 2022
- - Friday, Jan. 07, 2022
- - Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2021