1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Saturday, Aug. 07, 2021 - 18:58

I walked outside today and noticed something was weird, and at first I thought maybe it was that we're getting close to fall and the angle of the sun was different - but it was just that there was blue sky for the first time in a month.

Came back from vacation to ripe tomatoes, blooming sunflowers and dahlias, and a barrel full of rainwater. Everything survived while I was gone except a hanging planter of petunias - the drip line I'd stuck up there had fallen out. It's in the plant ICU right now, well watered and out of the sun, and it will end up surviving but scraggly. It's been replaced by another hanging planter of petunias that had been living on the ground because I only have one hook for hanging things.

I am still feeling burned out and tired. Yesterday morning spent hours going through emails and notifications, 85 percent of which are just noise. First day back as the official "manager" of the people on my team and still feeling ambivalent about that. I'd wanted to get a job as a data nerd, where all I had to deal with were patterns and characters on a screen. But.

My period started a couple days ago but it seems to be on its best behavior this time - I'm sure it heard that I'm going back on the pill (tomorrow!), the 3-month kind. So ha, period - I'll see you in 3 months, you bastard. Last month I had an episode of such intense pain that I thought I was going to barf or pass out. That happened twice about 20 years ago and my doctor then said it was probably ovarian cysts that burst. It could also be fibroids now. But even ignoring that, my periods have been horrible lately, so we're trying the pill. If shit still sucks I'll have to get scanned or probed or whatever.

I've been watching the Olympics a bit. There's so many weird sports. It's been fun.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Monday, Aug. 30, 2021
- - Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2021
- - Sunday, Aug. 15, 2021
- - Tuesday, Aug. 10, 2021
- - Monday, Aug. 09, 2021