1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Thursday, Jul. 21, 2022 - 09:53

When I was a kid, we got a peach tree and for some reason that I don't recall it was MY peach tree. This peach tree was the most amazing peach tree ever. Perhaps you've heard of it. It produced the sweetest, juiciest, biggest peaches that any peach tree anywhere has ever produced. I entered its canned peaches at the fair one year and they were so good that the normal fair awards would not suffice - officials from the Ball Canning Company were called to witness their glory and I was awarded the prestigious Ball Blue Ribbon Canning Award and given a recipe book and some canning jars.

Alas, the glory was short-lived - the peach tree, after a very short life, developed leaf curl and perished. We were all so heartbroken that no one in my family has ever even thought about getting another peach tree - there's just no point.

I have a few other stories like this from my childhood. I'll tell you another:

When I was 8, I was in a local summertime production of The Music Man at the old renovated arts deco theater downtown. I was a townsperson with no lines, and I received special permission from the director to not participate in Shipoopi - I objected to it for spiritual reasons (and also because of the 'poop' in the song). Our Professor Hill and Marian were the best singers and actors you've ever seen. You've heard of our production, no doubt. (I'm sure Hugh Jackman tries his best.) Our run was initially supposed to be - I don't even know - a week or two, but due to overwhelming, thunderous demand from the public, the run was extended for - I don't know - another week or two or possibly months. It was wildly successful and people still talk about it (I know I do).

Later, when I was in high school, some idiots put on another production of The Music Man in the same theater in my hometown and I had to go to it because my exbestfriend's current boyfriend was in it. Yikes. I mean, ugh. The townspeople's outfits were all color-coordinated and obviously their leads couldn't come close to ours. Everyone clapped politely but it was such a disaster that no one has ever attempted to try The Music Man in my hometown since. There's just no point.

previous - next

Recent entries:
- - Tuesday, Aug. 09, 2022
- - Thursday, Aug. 04, 2022
- - Tuesday, Aug. 02, 2022
- - Sunday, Jul. 31, 2022
- - Saturday, Jul. 23, 2022