1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

-
Monday, Oct. 28, 2019 - 18:39

I'm not often caught off-guard by the weather but today after work there I was, streets suddenly flash-covered with blown ice and snow, a monster east wind trying its best to flatten everything in sight, and me with my road bike, skinny smooth tires, frozen brakes, ice and snow coating the fenders. Luckily the wind was mostly at my back on the way home, luckily the ice froze unevenly on the ground, luckily the snow added some traction. I rode all the way to the park across the river, then walked my bike over the bridges and the last two blocks home.

The streets really are treacherous - smooth ice, shiny mirrors. Sirens all around. Tomorrow I'm driving - I have a doctor's appointment in the afternoon and ehhhhhhhhhh, this isn't going to be any better tomorrow - tonight it's getting down to 3 degrees. Nothing's melting for a while.

The other day I was thinking, October... November, December, January, February, March, April, May - that's... a long winter.

previous - next

Recent entries:
Day two - Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2019
First day - Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019
- - Monday, Nov. 11, 2019
- - Thursday, Nov. 07, 2019
- - Sunday, Nov. 03, 2019